Loading Icon Black
Firefly 3
  • Neue Größe: 18 m
  • Neue Zellöffnungen an der Anströmkante
  • Neue Verstärkung der Anströmkante
  • Leichtere Segelkonstruktion
  • Verbessertes System der Tragegurte
  • Neue Krümmung des Stabilos für ein geschmeidigeres Rollverhalten

Produktinfo

In expectation of the arrival of the next model, the FIREFLY 3 is currently not being produced. We will post news of the new version which will arrive in early 2020.

Der Firefly 3 ist eine Weiterentwicklung der legendären Firefly Serie, die auf einem simplen Prinzip basiert: Ein Hochleistungsprofil in einem extrem stabilen Speed Schirm. Der original Firefly war mit dem HPP Profil ausgestattet, das darauf ausgerichtet war, mit der geringen Streckung des Hybriden Speed Schirmes zu arbeiten. Der FF3 (Firefly3) verfolgt diesen Trend Richtung hoher Stabilität und guter Gleitleistung für seine Größe und Streckung.

Die Verbesserungen des FF3 betreffen jeden der beteiligten Faktoren mit dem Schwerpunkt auf den Aspekten Starten, Handling und Stabilität. Ebenso wie sein Vorgänger, startet auch der FF3 einfach, wobei wir hier nochmals eine Verbesserung durch ein leichteres Segeltuch erreicht haben – wir haben anstelle des N30D das leichtere aber strapazierfähigere N20D für das Untersegel gewählt, das sich nicht nur auf das Startverhalten positiv auswirkt, sondern auch die Segelträgheit während des Fluges verringert. Das vermittelt ein knackigeres und agileres Gefühl in der Luft. Auch bei Starkwind zeigt der Schirm keinerlei Tendenz zu überschießen, und ist beim Bodenhandling sehr einfach zu kontrollieren.

Verbesserungen am Tragegurte-System konnten wir durch eine neue Konfiguration der Trimmer Position erreichen. Das ermöglicht ein leichteres Beeinflussen und somit einfaches Handhaben der Trimmer mit den Bremsen in der Hand.

Aufgrund der Nachfrage von Piloten haben wir eine neue große Größe entwickelt. Der Gewichtsbereich des FF3 18m geht bis 120 kg – für alle, die etwas größer sind. Bei einer höheren Schirmauslastung ist die Rollstabilität ausgezeichnet, und die Flare Power bleibt eindrucksvoll.

Neue Zellöffnungen erlauben einen höheren Innendruck im beschleunigten Flug, was hilfreich für die Klappresistenz ist, und das Handling verbessert. Eine neue Verstärkung der Anströmkante hat die Abnutzung dieses äußerst wichtigen Segelbereichs reduziert, ohne dabei jeglichen Kompromiss in der Formgebung der Anströmkante einzugehen.

Letztlich hat eine neue Krümmung des Stabilos zu einem verbesserten Rollverhalten geführt. Das ist für Speed Piloten ein kritisches Thema. Wenn man in Bodennähe carvt, ist ein vorhersehbares und progressives Rollverhalten besonders wichtig, und das progressive Gefühl des FF3 ist über die Gewichtsbereiche hinweg beständig.

In der Geschichte dieser Schirmserie hat das fortschrittliche Profil des FF3 gezeigt, dass es in dieser Klasse ideal ist für hohe Pitch Stabilität und hervorragende Leistungen, und die geringe Streckung sowie die dicken Flügelenden sorgen für passive Sicherheit und Stabilität. Der Firefly 3 ist für Flieger, die das aufregende Pilotieren eines Minischirms erleben wollen ohne dabei auf Sicherheit und Stabilität zu verzichten, wie es bei Schirmen mit mehr Streckung ansonsten in der Minischirm Kategorie üblich ist, die allererste Wahl.

Einen Teil seiner Leistung verdankt der FF3 auch dem fortschrittlichen widerstandsreduzierenden Leinenplan. Das könnte man als „freien Leistungsgewinn“ bezeichnen, der nicht auf Kosten der Stabilität geht.

Für uns bei OZONE ist die höchste Priorität für Minischirme und Speed Schirme die Sicherheit. Eine höhere Schirmauslastung bedeutet nicht automatisch mehr Stabilität, und wir haben mit großer Sorgfalt einen kleineren Schirm entwickelt, der trotz Spaßfaktor ein hohes Maß an passiver Sicherheit beibehält, das für Gleitschirm Piloten mit Anfänger-Intermediate Kenntnissen und darüber hinaus geeignet ist.

Farbwahl

Firefly 3 Colour Options

Bestellinfo

OZONE has some of the shortest lead times in the industry. The current production time is approximately 94 days from order to shipping (updated daily). Contact your dealer to place your order.

Lieferumfang

Your OZONE wing is delivered standard with the following accessories:

You may choose to add something to your order, such as: Saucisse Bag (video) (concertina packing bag), Glider Backpack, Easy Bag (quick stuff sack), or OZONE Clothing and Accessories.

Spezifikationen

Größen1618
Anzahl der Zellen2424
Projizierte Fläche (m2)14.215.9
Ausgelegte Fläche (m2)1618
projizierte Spannweite (m)6.466.85
ausgelegte Spannweite (m)7.628.08
projizierte Streckung2.942.94
ausgelegte Streckung3.633.63
Flügeltiefe (m)2.552.7
Gleitschirmgewicht (kg)2.923.32
Load Test142kg142kg
* Weights may vary up to 50gm per size due to slight variations in the manufacturing of the fabric used.

Material

  • Obersegel: Dominico 30D MF
  • Untersegel: Dominico N20D MF
  • Rippen: Dominico 30D MF
  • Galerieleinen: Liros DSL serie
  • Mittleres Stockwerk: Liros DSL serie
  • Stammleinen: Edelrid 6843 serie

DOWNLOADS

Persönliche Farbwahl

Zone 1
Zone 2
Zone 3

OZONE COLOUR REFERENCE (//)

SHARE YOUR DESIGN

Your message has been sent!

Share via Email

Please fill in this form and then press the Send it! button. An email will be automatically sent from flyozone.com to your friend with a link in it for him to see your custom colour design. You can also add notes to the email.

Your Email Address

Your Friend's Address

Your Notes

Share with OZONE Dealer

Please fill in this form and then press the Send to dealer button. An email will be automatically sent from flyozone.com to your local dealer with the information needed to place your order. Your local dealer will send you a quote asap. You can add notes to the email as well.

Your Contact Info

Your Notes

Select Your Country

ZUR PERSÖNLICHEN FARBWAHL

Ozone möchte dich dazu anregen, über deine persönliche Farbwahl deinen Schirm individuell so zu gestalten, dass er auch farblich dein Lieblingsstück wird. Diese kundenspezifischen Anfertigungen sind allerdings generell kostenpflichtig. Nachdem du dich entschieden hast, kannst du dein Design mit deinen Freunden teilen, oder – falls du bereits bestellen möchtest – dein Design zu deinem Ozone Händler schicken, um die anfallenden Kosten zu überprüfen, und die definitive Bestellung zu tätigen.

Bitte bedenke, dass es sich um einen kundenspezifischen Schirm handelt, der extra und speziell für dich hergestellt wird. Daher muss die Bezahlung erfolgen, ehe die Produktion deines Schirmes beginnen kann.

TUCHFARBEN UND UV-RESISTENZ

Sei dir bitte darüber im Klaren, dass die Farbe, die du auf deinem Bildschirm siehst, eventuell nicht die tatsächliche Tuchfarbe zeigt. Zudem können unterschiedliche Tücher mit dem gleichen Farbnamen farblich etwas variieren. Wenn man die große Bandbreite an Bildschirmeinstellungen nimmt, und sich dazu das Tuch in variierendem Licht und in verschiedenen Farbkombinationen vorstellt, wird einem klar, dass es unmöglich ist, die jeweiligen Tuchfarben perfekt auf einem Bildschirm darzustellen. Vielleicht ist es hilfreich, farbenbezogen auf Fotos verschiedener Schirme auf unserer Website zu schauen, um sie in variierendem Licht und unterschiedlichen Farbkombinationen zu vergleichen. Und solltest du dann immer noch Zweifel haben wie manche Farben tatsächlich wirken können, dann ist es wohl das beste, deinen Ozone Händler aufzusuchen, um dir bei ihm vor Ort ein Bild zu machen.

Alle Tücher, die wir verarbeiten, unterziehen wir bereits während der „Prototyp Farbphase“ ausgiebigen Tests, um Farbechtheit, mechanische Stabilität, Luftdurchlässigkeit und Langlebigkeit sicherzustellen, ehe sie in Produktion gehen. Danach wird jeder einzelne Meter des in Produktion gegangenen Tuches gründlich und präzise inspiziert, sobald es bei uns eintrifft. Ein Tuch, das nicht unseren strengen Qualitätskontrollstandards entspricht, senden wir natürlich umgehend an den Hersteller zurück. Manchmal werden wir gefragt: „Welche Farben halten am längsten oder haben die beste UV-Resistenz?“ Alle Farben, die bei uns Verwendung finden, erreichen auf einer Skala von 1 – 5 einen Wert zwischen 4 oder 5, wobei die Skalierung 5 den höchstmöglichen Wert an Langlebigkeit angibt.

Loading Icon Black
Firefly 3
  • New 18m size
  • New cell openings at leading edge
  • New leading edge reinforcement
  • Lighter sail construction
  • Improved riser system
  • New tip arc for smoother roll behaviour

PRODUCT INFO

In expectation of the arrival of the next model, the FIREFLY 3 is currently not being produced. We will post news of the new version which will arrive in early 2020.

The Firefly 3 builds on the legacy of the Firefly series, which was founded on a simple principle: A high performance profile in an extremely stable speed wing planform. The original Firefly contained an HPP profile that was tuned to work with the low aspect ratio hybrid speed wing planform. The FF3 continues this trend of high stability and good glide performance for its size and aspect ratio.

The FF3 improvements have improved all factors, with an emphasis on launch, handling, and stability. Like its predecessor, the FF3 launches easily with its behavior here being improved by a lighter sail – we have changed the N30D to the light yet durable N20D for the bottom surface, which aids not only the launch but also reduces sail inertia in flight for a crisper and more agile feel in the air. In high winds, the wing still has no tendency to overshoot, and is very easy to control and ground-handle.

Further improvements have been made to the riser system by reconfiguring the trimmer position, allowing easier manipulation of trim with brakes in-hand.

At the request of pilots, we have added a new larger size. The 18m FF3’s weight range maxes out at 120kg, for the big guys (or gals) out there. At higher wingloadings, roll stability is excellent and the flare power remains impressive.

New cell openings have allowed for increased internal pressure at accelerated speeds, which aids in collapse resistance and improves handling. A new leading edge reinforcement has reduced wear and tear at this crucial part of the sail, without compromising leading edge shape at all AoAs.

Finally, a new arc at the tip has led to improved roll behaviour, a critical topic for speed flying pilots. When carving near terrain, predictable and progressive roll behaviour is important, and the FF3’s progressive feel is consistent across the weight range.

In the history of this wing series, the FF3’s advanced profile has proven to be ideal for high pitch stability and excellent performance in the class, and the low aspect ratio and thick chord adds protection for passive safety and stability. It remains an excellent choice for pilots who want to experience the thrill of mini-wing piloting without the sacrifice in stability that is inherent in higher aspect ratio designs which are common in the mini-wing category.

Part of the FF3 performance is thanks to an advanced, reduced-drag line-plan. This could be considered a “free” performance gain, which has come at no cost in stability.

At OZONE, our main priority for mini-wings and speed-wings is safety. Higher wingloading does not automatically means higher stability, and we have taken great care to produce a smaller wing that, while fun to fly, still retains a level of passive safety that is suitable for paraglider pilots with beginner-intermediate skill levels, and higher.

COLOUR OPTIONS

Firefly 3 Colour Options

ORDERING INFORMATION

Lead time is currently unavailable. Contact your dealer for more information or to place an order.

PACKAGE CONTENTS

OZONE offers a range of backpack choices when you order your wing. To change the type of backpack that will come with your wing, please speak with your OZONE Dealer.

Your OZONE wing is delivered standard with the following accessories:

You may choose to add something to your order, such as: Saucisse Bag (video) (concertina packing bag), Easy Bag (quick stuff sack), or OZONE Clothing and Accessories.

SPECIFICATIONS

sizes1618
Number of cells2424
Projected area (m2)n14.215.9
Flat Area (m^2)1618
Projected Span (m)6.466.85
Flat Span (m)7.628.08
Projected Aspect Ratio2.942.94
Flat Aspect Ratio3.633.63
Root Chord (m)2.552.7
Glider Weight (kg)2.923.32
Load Test142kg142kg

MATERIALS

  • Top Surface Cloth: Dominico 30D MF
  • Bottom Surface Cloth: Dominico N20D MF
  • internal Ribs: Dominico 30D MF
  • Upper Lines: Liros DSL serie
  • Mid Lines: Liros DSL serie
  • Lower Lines: Edelrid 6843 serie

DOWNLOADS

CUSTOM COLOURS

Zone 1
Zone 2
Zone 3

OZONE COLOUR REFERENCE (//)

ABOUT CUSTOM COLOURS

Ozone encourages you to customize your own personal colour combination for your wing. Customization generally incurs a fee. Once you’ve decided you can share your design with your friends, or if you are ready to order, send it to your local Ozone dealer to verify the charge and place the final order.

Please note that because the glider will be built specifically for you in the Ozone factory, payment must be received before production can begin.

FABRIC COLOURS AND UV RESISTANCE

Please be aware that the colour you see on your screen may not accurately represent the actual fabric colour. Secondly, different cloths specifications with the same color name may vary slightly, please see here for an example. Given the wide varience in monitor calibration and the fabric appearance in different light and colour combinations, it is impossible to perfectly represent fabric colour on screen. If you have any doubts about the colours, look at photos of various wings on our website to see them in different light and colour combinations or contact your local dealer to see the fabric in person.

All of the fabric that we use undergoes extensive testing in prototype colour phase to ensure colourfastness, mechanical stability, porosity, and general longevity before we put it into production. Once our fabric is in production, every meter of it is rigorously inspected upon arrival in our factory, and fabric which does not pass our stringent quality control standards is returned to the manufacturer. We are frequently asked, "Which colours last the longest, or have the best UV resistance?" All of the colours that we stock score between 4 and 5 on a scale of 1-5, with 5 being the highest possible rating for longevity.