Loading Icon Black
Mantra M2

Info Produit

Options de Couleurs

Mantra M2 Colour Options

Contenu du package

OZONE offers a range of backpack choices when you order your wing. To change the type of backpack that will come with your wing, please speak with your OZONE Dealer.

Your OZONE wing is delivered standard with the following accessories:

You may choose to add something to your order, such as: Saucisse Bag (video) (concertina packing bag), Easy Bag (quick stuff sack), or OZONE Clothing and Accessories.

SPECIFICATIONS

S M L
No of Cells 59 59 59
Area Proj. 20.95 22.66 24.8
Area Flat 24.5 26.5 29
Span Proj. 9.8 10.2 10.7
Span Flat 12.4 12.8 13.4
AR Proj. 4.6 4.6 4.6
AR Flat 6.23 6.23 6.23
Root Chord 2.49 2.59 2.71
In flight weight Range* 67.87 82-102 97-117
Glider Weight 5.5 5.8 6.1
LTF 2-3 2-3 2-3

Matériaux

  • Tissu :
  • Extrados - Skytex 45 Evolution
  • Intrados - Skytex 40 Classic
  • Cloisons internes - Skytex 40/45 Dur

  • Suspentes :
  • Le plan de suspentage de la Mantra est idéal pour un minimum de traînée. Des suspentes fines et des points d’attaches bas ont été choisis pour minimiser la traînée tout en gardant en tête l’espérance de vie et la résistance de l’aile. Les suspentes hautes sont en Dyneema (Lyros DC60 0.6mm) et sont connues pour leur plus longue durée de vie par rapport à d’autres suspentes du même diamètre. Les suspentes basses sont de nouvelles lignes high-tech résistantes aux UV d’Edelrid (8000-230-UV1, 1.2mm). La combinaison de l’enduction et du diamètre des suspentes a été développée par Hans Bausenwein d’Allemagne, qui a été impliqué dans OZONE depuis sa création. L’enduction UV sur ces suspentes améliore nettement leur durée de vie.

  • Elévateurs et autres attaches :
  • Maillons : micros haute qualité de Maillon Rapide
  • Sangles d’élévateur : Dyneema pré-étirés
  • Poulies : Mini-poulies en aluminium ultra-légères avec roulement en cuivre d’Austri Alpin

Téléchargements

Notes du Concepteur

LE CONCEPT

Après le succès de la Mantra qui s’est fait connaître pour la meilleure maniabilité et confort pour une aile 2-3, notre objectif était de conserver cette excellente sensation de la Mantra initiale tout en rajoutant les performances que nous avons obtenu à travers nos tests sur notre aile de compétition 3 élévateurs, la Mantra R.

La M2 se base sur une véritable conception 3 lignes et les prototypes que nous avons développés depuis le X-Alps de 2003. Nous avons maintenant une forte expérience dans ce domaine. Cela représente une avancée notable en terme de performance et nous sommes capables de mettre cette technologie à disposition d’un plus large public. L’une des étapes du concept 3 lignes était la définition d’un nouveau plan de suspentage et système interne de diagonales, efficaces sans être lourds ou complexes.

Au total, 90m de suspentes en moins veulent dire 33% de traînée en moins.

L’allongement de la Mantra originale était déjà assez important avec ses 6,0, nous l’avons juste un peu poussé à 6,22. Nous ne voulions ni n’avions besoin d’augmenter beaucoup cet allongement car cela aurait voulu dire compromettre les sensations et la sécurité et cela n’était pas nécessaire grâce à la réduction massive du suspentage. Nous pensions que pour les sensations globales, le confort et la sécurité, il était plus efficace d’accroître la performance en réduisant la traînée plutôt que de pousser l’allongement comme d’autres conceptions 2-3.

La M2 est conçue avec un tout nouveau profil choisi pour son efficacité en air turbulent et en transition face au vent. Ce profil nous a permis d’accroître la taille globale de l’aile de 0,5m2, ce qui améliore le taux de chute, tout en améliorant la vitesse accélérée de l’aile par rapport à la Mantra initiale.

Les entrées d’air de la Mantra ont été légèrement réduites afin d’obtenir une position optimum pour la performance, le gonflage et les comportements en ré-ouverture.

Le système d’accélération de la M2 est d’une toute nouvelle conception à 3 élévateurs plus efficace avec une plus grande plage de vitesse pour un plus petit débattement de l’accélérateur. Les performances de la M2 en vol accéléré sont ainsi excellentes.

CE QUI N’A PAS CHANGÉ

 La M2 possède le même nombre de cellules que l’originale. Nous avons prouvé qu’il n’y a pas besoin de rendre l’aile plus lourde et rigide en ajoutant des cellules et cloisons diagonales. La simplicité reste le mot clé. Nous avons atteint la plus haute performance possible dans cette catégorie, tout en conservant une excellente maniabilité et un bon confort. Comme la Mantra initiale, le gonflage est excellent et l’aile est douce en tangage et stable en air turbulent, grâce à sa conception et la bonne répartition de la pression interne. La M2 est une véritable aile DHV2-3 dans tous les domaines.

Loading Icon Black
Mantra M2

PRODUCT INFO

COLOUR OPTIONS

Mantra M2 Colour Options

PACKAGE CONTENTS

OZONE offers a range of backpack choices when you order your wing. To change the type of backpack that will come with your wing, please speak with your OZONE Dealer.

Your OZONE wing is delivered standard with the following accessories:

You may choose to add something to your order, such as: Saucisse Bag (video) (concertina packing bag), Easy Bag (quick stuff sack), or OZONE Clothing and Accessories.

SPECIFICATIONS

S M L
No of Cells 59 59 59
Area Proj. 20.95 22.66 24.8
Area Flat 24.5 26.5 29
Span Proj. 9.8 10.2 10.7
Span Flat 12.4 12.8 13.4
AR Proj. 4.6 4.6 4.6
AR Flat 6.23 6.23 6.23
Root Chord 2.49 2.59 2.71
In flight weight Range* 67.87 82-102 97-117
Glider Weight 5.5 5.8 6.1
LTF 2-3 2-3 2-3

MATERIALS

  • Cloth:
  • Top Surface - Skytex 45 Evolution
  • Bottom surface - Skytex 40 Classic
  • Ribs - Skytex 40/45 Hard

  • Lines:
  • The Mantra’s line plan is the ideal arrangement for minimum drag. Thin lines and low-profile attachment points were chosen to minimize drag, but durability was kept in mind in order to ensure the gliders longevity and strength. The uppers are Dyneema (Lyros DC60 0.6mm) which are known for having a longer lifespan than other lines of similar diameter, and the riser lines are a new high-tech UV-treated line from from Edelrid (8000-230-UV1, 1.2mm). This coating and line diameter combination was developed by Hans Bausenwein of Germany, who has been involved with OZONE since the beginning of the company. The UV coating on these lines greatly increases their lifespan.

  • Risers and Hardware:
  • Shackles; high quality micros maillons from Maillon Rapide.
  • Riser Webbing; pre-stretched Dyneema.
  • Pulleys; Austri Alpin aliminium light weight mini pulleys with brass roller

DOWNLOADS

DESIGNER'S NOTES

After the success of the original Mantra, which gained a reputation for perhaps the best handling and comfort level in the 2-3 class, our mission was to maintain the excellent feeling of the original Mantra while integrating the performance advantages that we have gained through testing of our 3-line open class competition wing, the Mantra Research.

The M2 is a true 3-line design, and is the product of prototypes we have been developing since the X-Alps in 2003. We now have a solid background working with this concept. It is a huge step forward in performance, but we feel very confident releasing it to the public. One of the keystones of the 3-line concept was the perfection of a new line arrangement and internal diagonal system, which is efficient without being heavy and complex.

Overall, the 90m less line means 33% less surface area drag.

The aspect ratio of the original Mantra was already quite high at 6.0, so we only stretched it a slight amount to 6.22. We didn’t want or need to push this aspect too far, because doing so would compromise the feeling and the safety, and is also not necessary due to the massively lower-drag line configuration. We felt that for overall feeling, comfort, and safety, it is much better and more efficient to increase performance by decreasing drag than to push the aspect ratio too far like some other existing 2-3 designs.

The M2 was designed with a completely new profile, which we chose for it’s efficiency in turbulent air and in headwind glides. This profile has allowed us to increase the overall size of the wing by 0.5m2, which improves the climb and sink rate, but at the same time we have increased the already high trim speed of the original Mantra!

The M2’s intakes have been reduced slightly in order to obtain the optimum position for performance, inflation characteristics, and re-opening behaviour.

The M2’s speed system is a completely new design as a result of the 3-line concept and is more efficient with a higher speed range in a shorter speed system distance. Furthermore, the accelerated flight test results of the M2 are excellent.

WHAT HASN’T CHANGED?

The M2 has the same amount of cells as the original. We’ve proved that there is no need to make the sail too complicated and too heavy with too many cells and internal diagonals. Simplicity remains one of the keys. We have reached the highest performance possible in the category while retaining excellent handling and good overall comfort. Like the original Mantra, the launch is excellent and the glider is smooth in pitch and stable in active air, due to its lightweight design and balanced sail-tension. The M2 is a true LTF 2-3 wing, with no exceptions!

-David Dagault, designer and test pilot.